Golfer Who Didn't Know New Rule Pays Big Price

Lee Ann Walker given 58 penalty strokes in Senior LPGA Championship
By Jenn Gidman,  Newser Staff
Posted Oct 17, 2019 12:02 PM CDT
Golfer Who Didn't Know New Rule Pays Big Price
Lee Ann Walker is seen in a golf tournament at Pinnacle Country Club on Sept. 9, 2007, in Rogers, Ark.   (AP Photo/Beth Hall)

A new rule threw a veteran golfer off her game this week, and it cost her big. The Golf Channel reports that Lee Ann Walker competed in the Senior LPGA Championship in French Lick, Ind., and in both the first round on Tuesday and the second round on Wednesday, she made a critical error: She putted with her caddie lined up right behind her, a practice banned earlier this year that Walker says she didn't know about. She tells the AP she shot through the entire first round without other players noticing, but during the second round, fellow competitors alerted her to the rule, and Walker self-reported to officials.

Walker was able to recall how many times she'd violated the rule over the two days, and that's when she heard her penalty: 42 strokes piled onto her opening round, bringing her score to 127, and 16 added onto the second round, for a score of 90. "I may have made the Guinness ... World Records," Walker told the AP Wednesday after the unfortunate blunder. "It was my fault for not knowing the rules. I don't have anyone to blame but myself. Big lesson learned." (More golf stories.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.