Castroneves Wins 3rd Indy 500

By Newser Editors and Wire Services
Posted May 24, 2009 3:58 PM CDT
Castroneves Wins 3rd Indy 500
Helio Castroneves, of Brazil, celebrates after his pit crew in Indianapolis, Friday, May 22, 2009.   (AP Photo/Jeff Roberson)

Helio Castroneves won his third Indianapolis 500 today, beating 2005 winner Dan Wheldon by 1.981 seconds and leaving Danica Patrick in third, the best finish by a woman at Indianapolis. With 10 laps to go, Castroneves' lead was 1.38 seconds, and he continued widening the gap the rest of the way. Townsend Bell was fourth and Will Power fifth. Last year's winner, Scott Dixon, finished sixth.

Castroneves, who started from the pole, had a half-second lead over teammate Ryan Briscoe before a hard crash by Vitor Meira and rookie Raphael Matos brought out the yellow caution with 26 laps to go in today's race. But Briscoe had to come in for fuel, moving Wheldon up to second and Patrick third. The green came out after 183 of the 200 laps, and Castroneves began pulling away for good. (Read more auto racing stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.