Library of Congress Adds 25 More Recordings

Simon & Garfunkel, Chubby Checker, Janis Joplin, and Pink Floyd among inductees
By Kevin Spak,  Newser Staff
Posted Mar 21, 2013 2:10 PM CDT

Pink Floyd is about to be enshrined in the Library of Congress. So are Simon & Garfunkel, Janis Joplin, Chubby Checker, and 21 other artists, the institution said today, as it announced the latest expansion of its audio collection. The selected recordings span from 1918 to 1980, the AP reports. Among them:

  • Simon & Garfunkel's The Sound of Silence. Art Garfunkel tells the AP he's thrilled. "When you look at the little mesh, wire microphone ... and you address people on the other side of the mic, you hope that your performance will be special, and you hope that it will have lasting power."
  • Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon, which received the most public nominations of any of this year's crop.
  • Chubby Checker's iconic recording of The Twist, which the Library calls "emblematic of the energy and excitement of the early 1960s."
  • Cheap Thrills, from Janis Joplin's band Big Brother and the Holding Company.
  • The soundtrack for Saturday Night Fever.
  • Will Rogers' Bacon, Beans and Limousines.
For a full breakdown, see the full announcement here. (Read more Simon and Garfunkel stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.